Interpersonal Communication

The health skill, Interpersonal Communication, guides students to better understand, practice, and reflect on their interactions with others. By providing students with a safe space to practice strategies for healthy communication, students are more prepared to handle social situations throughout their life. Interpersonal Communication is written in four stages: Communication Techniques, Boundary Setting/Refusal Skills, Conflict Resolution, and Collaboration. Each stage of this model supports students to better understand themselves and their community while working toward having more authentic, intentional dialogue with others.

The four stages of Interpersonal Communication were designed to support the growth of each student toward more complex levels of communication, beginning with the individual and ending with effective group work. These stages were developed in sequential order to ensure strategies build upon one another, leading to more inclusive, authentic, and collaborative teamwork.

Stages of Interpersonal Communication

  • Communication Techniques
    The general communication techniques covered in this stage consist of effective speaking and listening strategies that are needed in any communication situation.
  • Boundary Setting/Refusal Skills
    Boundary Setting/Refusal Skills allow students to stand by healthy decisions while facing pressure to participate in risky or unhealthy behavior and remove themselves from unhealthy situations.
  • Conflict Resolution
    Conflict Resolution teaches specific strategies for resolving often uncomfortable situations and helps turn unproductive conflict into productive conflict.
  • Collaboration
    Effective Collaboration is a necessary in leading a successful life post high school and leads to more creative outcomes, increased content retention, higher self-esteem, and increased empathy.

Let's Connect

Please let us know how we can support you to champion health and wellness.